top of page

5 Tips to Help You Prepare for a Festival

Updated: Nov 9, 2023

Festivals are an equivalent to Christmas, the most magical time of the year haha. No for real, I love all my festivals just as much as I love Christmas. However, the love does not only come from the experience on the grounds, I also love preparing for each festival. Proper preparation is key to ensure you have an amazing time! Here are some of my tips to help you prepare for your next festival!

 
Tip #1 - Plan Ahead

The first step in preparing for a festival is to plan ahead. Research the festival's website and familiarize yourself with the schedule, lineup, and event layout. Although I usually rely on my friends for this on the grounds, I have looked at it prior and know which artists I really want to see perform live. Also, check if the festival has any special events, workshops, or other activities. I won't suggest planning them, but knowing if they do can be fun, DEFQON.1 for example always has an arts & crafts area however this is never on the layout so its always s fun hunt to try to find it in between shows.

 
Tip #2 - Pack Wisely

When it comes to packing for a festival, less is often more. You'll be carrying your essentials around all day, so opt for a lightweight fanny pack to keep your hands free. For a more in depth essentials packing list, refer to my previous blog posts:

 
Tip #3 - Hydration and Nutrition

Staying properly hydrated and nourished is crucial during a festival. Most festivals offer food vendors, but lines can be long, and prices can be high. Although that sucks, please feed yourself haha. It is important to have some food in your system, especially when you're also drinking. Most festivals will have some sort of food court where all the stands are, so I would suggest looking them up prior to exploring all that there is. And also, don't forget your refillable water bottle to stay hydrated!

 
Tip #4 - Stay Connected

While it's important to disconnect from the outside world and immerse yourself in the festival experience, it's also crucial to stay connected with your friends. Large festival grounds can be disorienting, and cell phone service may be spotty. Designate a meeting point with your group in case you get separated, and consider using a festival app or two-way radios to stay in touch. I also wrote a blog post about ensuring safety which dives more in depth about this topic, you can read that one here!

 
Tip #5 - Respect the Environment & Others

One of the beautiful aspects of festivals is the sense of community and positive vibes. To ensure everyone has a great time, it's essential to respect both the environment and your fellow festival-goers. Clean up after yourself - most festivals will use a recycle system, so if you want you can inform yourself with how this works prior to attending and be mindful of the impact you have on the festival grounds. Respect personal space and the rights of those around you.

 

This post does have some alignment with all the previous ones I have made, but this one will give you a more general overview haha. Other things that you can do to prepare is look at transportation, set out your clothes the night before, plan your hair and make-up, but I didn't include those in the main tips because I feel like those are more personal preference’s. Although planning your transportation might be a good one haha, I usually take care of this almost immediately or a couple weeks before. I hope these tips can help you! I would love to read what you're musts are to prepare, so please let me know in the comments! I'll see you in the nexy one!


xx Myrthe


12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page